Web Clubs

LaLiga LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport
LaLiga Group
LaLiga LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport
LaLiga Group
HomeTransparencyDistribution of TV Rights


Distribution of TV Rights

Distribution of broadcasting revenues of the 2020/21 season to meet the reporting obligations set out in Royal Decree-Law 5/2015

Pursuant to the provisions of Article 7.1. of Royal Decree-Law 5/2015 of 30 April on urgent measures regarding the marketing of audiovisual rights for professional football competitions (hereinafter, RD) and, among others, of Article 2 of Royal Decree 2/2018 of 12 January which implements it, the Liga Nacional de Futbol Profesional's Control Body for the Administration of Audiovisual Rights hereby publishes “…the criteria for the distribution of broadcasting revenues, the amounts to which each participating club is entitled and the amounts they have paid to meet the obligations set out in Article 6.1”.

I. Amounts distributed to each participating club and the amounts they have paid to meet the obligations set out in Article 6.1 of the RD[1].

The tables below show the breakdown of the amounts distributed to each club participating in the different divisions, as well as the amounts they have paid to meet the obligations set out in Article 6.1 of said legal text as of the conclusion of the 2020/2021 season, without prejudice to any eventual updating that, in such case, would have to be carried out by the Control Body for the Administration of Audiovisual Rights:

*Additionally, it is important to note that the obligations applicable to the 2020/2021 season of Article 6.1 of the RD include in section a) the obligation to allocate 2.5% to a Compensation Fund from which clubs competing in the professional football competition and which are relegated to a lower division may benefit. The Clubs/Public Limited Sports Companies which were relegated at the end of the 2019/2020 season and, therefore, were entitled to receive such compensation during the 2020/2021 season were those relegated to Segunda Division A, highlighted in the previous table with an asterisk (*), and those relegated to Primera División RFEF[2], listed below[3]:

Furthermore, in order to verify fulfilment of the provisions of Article 5.5 of the RD, in which it is established that the difference between the clubs that receive the greatest and least revenue must not be greater than 3.5 times, whenever the distribution exceeds €1.5 billion, the amounts that may be received from the Compensation Fund foreseen in paragraph a) of Article 6.1 and the revenue that participating clubs may receive from the successful bidders for the exclusive exploitation of audiovisual rights as consideration from any other commercial relationship shall both be calculated. In this regard, the provisional amounts to be received as compensation for relegation are as follows:

II. Criteria for distributing broadcasting revenues

The revenue obtained for the joint exploitation and marketing of audiovisual rights of the National League Championship (LaLiga Santander and LaLiga SmartBank) have been distributed among the clubs participating in the Primera Division and Segunda Division A in accordance with the criteria of Article 5 "Criteria for distributing revenue among participants in the National League Championship” of the RD.

Such that:

  1. In accordance with the provisions of Article 5.3.b).1 of the RD, given that the Segunda Division A has more than 20 teams (at the end of the section), the percentages received in accordance with their sporting results have been adjusted as per the following section of said article, maintaining a progressive structure based on the results, as set out in the following table:

2. In accordance with the provisions of Article 5.3.b).2 of the RD, the percentages distributed to the clubs in the Primera Division and Segunda Division A based on the social influence weighting have been determined according to the following criteria: one third based on their average income from season tickets and gate receipts over the past five seasons, and the remaining two thirds based on their contribution to broadcast resource generation calculated through a comparison with the average audiences recorded by the participating clubs in each season. The latter criterion was duly approved by the Division Boards of the respective divisions during the meetings held on 11 December 2015, and these were the competent bodies as established in the Articles of Association of the Liga Nacional de Futbol Profesional.


[1] By way of clarification, Article 6.1 has undergone successive modifications during 2020 and 2021. Thus, final provision 5.3. of Royal Decree-Law 15/2020, of 21 April, on urgent complementary measures to support the economy and employment, modified letters a) and c) and added letter f), which are applicable to the 2020/2021 season. Subsequently, Article 3.2. of Royal Decree-Law 15/2021, of 13 July, has again amended letter c) of the aforementioned article.

[2] Category formerly known as Segunda División B.

[3] The amount that, in the form of compensation, is received by affiliated clubs/SADs that are relegated, both to Segunda Division A and Primera División RFEF, is regulated in Book VIII of the General Regulation of LaLiga under the heading “Regulation of financial compensation for the relegation of affiliated Clubs/SADs”, as well as in Article 3.4 of RD 2/2018 which includes the loss of the right to receive compensation in the case of administrative relegation.



Distribution of broadcasting revenues 17/18

Distribution of broadcasting revenues 18/19

Distribution of broadcasting revenues 19/20