Web Clubs

LaLiga LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport
LaLiga Group
LaLiga LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport
LaLiga Group

Copa del Rey







SÁB 27.05.2017 | NEWS

Barcelona win a third consecutive Copa del Rey title

Goals from Messi, Neymar and Alcacer delivered a 3-1 win for Barça against Alaves in Luis Enrique’s final game at the helm.


SÁB 27.05.2017

Barcelona won a third consecutive Copa del Rey title, a record-extending 29th in their history, with a 3-1 triumph over Deportivo Alaves. Lionel Messi, Neymar and Paco Alcacer scored the goals that ensured Luis Enrique signed off in his final game as Barça coach with a ninth title in his three years at the helm.

The game was played at a high tempo from the start and Barça were forced into an early change when Javier Mascherano had to be replaced by Andre Gomes after a clash of heads. Alaves hit the post with a shot that rolled across the face of goal, before the holders took the lead. Messi played a one-two with Neymar on the edge of the area and curled a superb shot beyond Fernando Pacheco. Alaves struck back almost immediately. Theo Hernandez curled a stunning freekick over Jasper Cillessen into the top corner, the 19-year-old Frenchman’s second goal of the season.

With halftime approaching Barça stamped their authority on the game with two quick goals. First, Messi fed Gomes wide of the area and his low cross was steered home at the back post by Neymar. The Brazilian became the first player to score in three consecutive Copa del Rey finals (2015, 2016, 2017) since Ferenc Puskas (1960, 1961, 1962). Then Messi went on a fabulous mazy run to set up Paco Alcacer who scored the third.

© LaLiga - 2017