Web Clubs



SAT 03.06.2017 | NEWS

The winners of the last four Champions Leagues have come from LaLiga Santander

Real Madrid won the European Cup for a record-extending twelfth time. Six of the last eight finalists in the Champions League have come from Spain.


SAT 03.06.2017

LaLiga Santander dominates Europe. The numbers speak for themselves. Real Madrid’s victory over Juventus was a record-extending twelfth triumph in the competition, and was the first time a club had defended their title in the Champions League era, having also lifted the trophy in Milan last year.

Spain’s dominance extends beyond Real Madrid to include FC Barcelona and Atletico Madrid in recent years. Six of the last eight finalists have come from Spain. In 2013/14, Real Madrid and Atlético de Madrid disputed the final in Lisbon with Carlo Ancelotti’s men taking the honours. In 2014/15, Juventus and FC Barcelona met in Berlin with Luis Enrique’s side lifting the trophy. Last year was another Madrid derby with Real Madrid and Atlético clashing in Milan, when Zinedine Zidane guided the team to his first European victory as coach.

To reach the final this year, Real Madrid once again had to beat Atletico, this time in the semi-finals, while Juventus had to knock out FC Barcelona to reach Cardiff. Two goals from Cristianoand one each from Casemiro and Marco Asensio earned Real Madrid the victory for Zidane on Saturday ensuring LaLiga Santander continues to set the standard when it comes to winning Europe’s premier continental club competition.



© LaLiga - 2017