Web Clubs

LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport
LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport

LaLiga Santander


LUN 13.01.2014 | NEWS

The Liga BBVA was the biggest winner at the FIFA Ballon d'Or Ceremony

Real Madrid and Barcelona players played a leading role at the ceremony in Zurich.


LUN 13.01.2014

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Sergio Ramos, Xavi Hernández, Daniel Alves and Andrés Iniesta were the Liga BBVA players to be recognised at the FIFA Ballon d'Or presentation ceremony.

The most coveted prize of the night went to Cristiano Ronaldo. The Real Madrid CF player took the Ballon d'Or for the best player of 2013, in a vote that also involved another Liga BBVA player, Lionel Messi of FC Barcelona, as well as Franck Ribéry of FC Bayern Munich.

But the participation of the Liga BBVA players did not end there. As many as six footballers in the competition were chosen in the FIFA/FIFPro World XI. Sergio Ramos, Daniel Alves, Xavi Hernández, Andrés Iniesta, Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi all formed part of the team of the best 2013footballers. More than half of the line-up were Liga BBVA players.

One of the night's surprises is worth a special mention. Legendary Brazilian player Pelé was awarded with the 2013 Ballon d'Or Prix d'Honneur, an accolade that brought tears to the eyes of the only player to have won three FIFA World Cups.

Other prizes went to the German coach, Silvia Neid, who won the 2013 FIFA Coach of the Year for Women's Football award. While Jupp Heynckes, ex- FC Bayern Munich coach, won the 2013 FIFA Coach of the Year for Men's Football award for his successful spell at the German club.

The list of winners ended with Zlatan Ibrahimović, winner of the 2013 FIFA Puskas Award, and Nadine Angerer, 2013 FIFA Women's World Player of the Year.

© LaLiga - 2014