Web Clubs

LaLiga Institutional

LaLiga with sport

LUN 03.12.2018 | NEWS

Luka Modric wins the Ballon d'Or

The Real Madrid midfielder wins the prestigious award for the first time, with Antoine Griezmann and Cristiano Ronaldo runners up.


LUN 03.12.2018

Luka Modric has made history. The Real Madrid midfielder has won the Ballon d’Or for the first time. The award is given to the best footballer over last season, as judged by the prestigious French magazine, France Football. 

The Real Madrid player completed a great season in 2017/2018, winning the Champions League with his club, and was a runner-up with his country Croatia at the World Cup in Russia. On an individual level he was recognised as the best player at the World Cup after leading his side to a historic second place at the tournament.

The former Real Madrid player, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann, made up the other two places on the podium, in second and third places respectively. The French forward was was a key figure helping Atletico Madrid to win the Europa League and played a similar role with his country as they won the World Cup.

Luka Modric breaks the dominance that Cristiano Ronaldo and Leo Messi have had over the award, the two having shared between them the last ten trophies. The hegemony that does remain, however, is that of LaLiga. The last ten best footballers in the world have all played in the best league in the world, LaLiga Santander.






© LaLiga - 2018