Web Clubs

LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport
LaLiga Institutional
LaLiga with sport

LaLiga SmartBank


SAT 31.05.2014 | NEWS

Deportivo back in the Liga BBVA

The Galician side have earned promotion and will play in the 2014/15 edition of Liga BBVA after 1-0 Jaén on matchday 41.


SAT 31.05.2014

RC Deportivo de La Coruña have made it. The Galician side, under the guise of Fernando Vázquez have achieved their objective from the start of the season and will play in Liga BBVA in 2014/15. Fans and players came together to celebrate what could be the start of a prosperous period for the club.

A year ago, when the side were relegated, they started to plan for a return to the top level of Spanish football. Vázquez was able to form a side consisting of hardened veterans and youngsters from the academy, who took centre stage throughout the year.

Players such as Manuel Pablo and Carlos Marchena were the examples for youngsters like Pablo Insua, and the mix between experience and youth worked perfectly. Insua has since become a fixture in the side's backline, helping the side achieve the success they celebrate today.

The reinforcements brought in during the January transfer market were crucial in the promotion push. Diogo Salomão and Toché arrived at the Riazor and helped the side to a win over CE Sabadell at the beginning of 2014. After the Portuguese’s unfortunate injury, it was Diego Ifrán, on loan from Real Sociedad, who stepped up to the plate. 4 goals in last 9 games is the Uruguayan's record, and he is, without doubt one of the main reasons for the side’s return to the elite.

The Estadio de Riazor will once again enjoy some brilliant evenings of football. Also, the return to Liga BBVA once again means there will be a feisty Galician derby against Eduardo 'Toto' Berizzo's RC Celta de Vigo.

Deportivo are back in the big time. They are once again in Liga BBVA and will want to get back to the good old days. Their fans, just like this campaign, will be decisive if the side are to once again impress.

© LaLiga - 2014